Eugene G. Sander Award for Shared Governance

Dr. Eugene G. Sander served the University of Arizona for more than 20 years as the 20th President of the University, the Executive Vice President and Provost, Vice President for University Outreach, and Vice Provost and Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS). Dr. Sander was a staunch and unflagging advocate of employees at the UA. Under his leadership, CALS became a model for inclusivity of shared governance. As President, he included shared governance leaders on the President's Cabinet. He elevated shared governance to an integrated and meaningful voice on campus.

Initially awarded in 2012, the Sander Award provides recognition to UA leaders who embrace and embody the ideals of shared governance, and recognize the importance of appointed professionals and their contributions on campus. The APAC Awards and Recognition committee solicits nominations in the winter from APAC and APs at large. They then review candidates and decide on the awardee after consultation with the APAC Executive Committee. Awards are given at the annual UA Employee Awards for Excellence in April.

NOMINATE:  Nominations for the Eugene G. Sander Award for Shared Governance are solicited in the first quarter of each year. Awards are made in March. Go to the nomination form now.

Award Winners:


Madelyn "Madge" Mock, CALS Administration

Madge was honored for her distinguished service as a "sage and trusted adviser" to staff and AP over a career of more than 45 years at the University of Arizona. She is described as a "mentor, colleague, champion of the institution, institutional participant, and moral leader." Madge was a pioneer in the development of shared governance at the University, serving on the then Staff Advisory Council at a time when it was the only employee advisory group. Her extensive service on employee grievance review committees is also testament to her commitment to the ideals and tenets of effective shared governance. 


Gail D. Burd, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Gail is responsible for advancing the academic mission of the University of Arizona. She has been or is involved with almost every shared governance group.Gail was recognized for her tireless support of academic professionals, particularly academic advisors and NTT faculty and instructors. She was the driving force behind the comprehensive review of advisor workloads, career ladders and compensation.  She is passionate about cultivating student success and has promoted professional development opportunities and resources for those involved in classroom teaching to enable them to become better teachers. 


Mika Galilee-Belfer, Director, Strategic Planning and Special Projects, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences

Mika is responsible for the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences strategic plan, as well as for projects like new program development and special events. She has been a great leader and facilitator for APAC, and a strong advocate for UA appointed professionals across campus. When informed that she would be receiving this award, she simply responded, "It makes me want to do better!"


Michael Brewer, Librarian, University Libraries

Michael has been a tireless champion for non-tenure track faculty through his work as Chair of the Non-tenure Track Taskforce organized by the Faculty Senate.  Michael has partnered with APAC to further the issues and status of the NTT faculty community.  We look forward to ongoing partnerships as both the Senate and APAC seek ways to represent this important group.

Thomas P. Miller, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs

Tom has been instrumental in revisions and improvements to the University Handbook for Appointed Personnel (UHAP), alongside a diverse membership from across campus.  He has brought greater clarity and delineation to the different appointed personnel categories and governing policies, without creating cultural divides between the categories.  His work to clarify adjunct faculty is a wonderful case in point.


Allison Vaillancourt, VP Institutional Effectiveness and Human Resources

Allison is an ardent advocate for employees and shared governance.  She has been a true partner with APAC through our joint work of policy developments including the Board's creation of Academic and Service Professionals, support of professional development and seeking graduate education by UA appointed professionals, and the Board's review of at-will employment policies.

JC Mutchler, Executive Director and Vice President, Executive Office of the President

JC, in his role as Chair of the Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee (SPBAC) and as Secretary of the Faculty Senate, has won numerous admirers for his calm demeanor and savvy administrative intellect.  He has actively solicited and engaged APAC in SPBAC activities including the development of Never Settle.


Eugene G. Sander, President of the University

Nomination Form

Nominations close on 3/22/2019 at 5:00 PM.